A Note on Occupy Homecoming

This might come off as more critical than it really is – I think it is important for those who feel dedicated to a particular cause to maintain inertia through exercises in their cause’s modalities. I’m not discouraging anyone from attending the Occupy Homecoming June 1 in Manhattan, although I myself cannot make it. But I would like to make a suggestion about this posting which makes enthusiastic recommendation difficult: for all practical purposes I have no idea what

“Sleep Cell Convergence! Liberty Plaza is the home of Occupy Wall Street, but we express our power by direct action, and sleep on the streets as a political action to expose the corrosion that is corrupting our world. Our targets may consistently change, but we can always be found here first as we choose our actions of resistance on a nightly basis!”

means. I vaguely recognize its rhetorical ancestors, and it certainly shares the patent language of Adbusters. I am interested in the event’s politics and of course feel a stake in the Occupy ‘brand’ (if you’ll pardon the phrase), however in order to extract real world meaning I believe language like ‘we express our power by direct action, and sleep on the streets as a political action to expose the corrosion that is corrupting our world’ must stand quite a bit of decompression, in fact thorough explication, to which it has been and continues to be subjected, the product of which you can find in *books.

However, I am very skeptical anyone can really tell me what the above means or that they really believe someone unfamiliar with the event would have any idea what to expect from it, or visualize its practical target. It seems to me that this disconnect may be endemic and symptomatic of a sort of ideological and strategic apoptosis.

Leave a Reply

